Separated from the northern province in 2011, Muchinga Province is Zambia’s youngest province and consists out of seven districts, namely, Chama, Chinsali, Isoka, Mpika, Nakonde, Shiwang’andu and Mafinga district. The name originated from the Muchinga Mountains, an escarpment that serves as a divide between the Zambezi river and the Congo river, which functions as two major drainage basins.

The main rivers flowing through the province are the Luangwa river, the Chambeshi river, and a major branch of both the Zambezi river and Lake Bangweulu. This centrally located province features three top national parks; the Lavushi Manda Park, North Luangwa and South Luangwa National Park.

With a variety of accommodation options are available for tourists and even business trips. You can pick and choose between luxury hotels, comfortable guest houses or homey bed and breakfasts.

Please note that “Rates From” could be fully inclusive (may include activities such as game drives and walking trails for example) on some listings and not on others. Contact the establishment you are interested in for specific rates.