The Zambia Department of Immigration can be found here.

Before you depart for Zambia, double check if you need a visa or not. If you do, confirm where it can be obtained and how much it will cost as requirements can change without notice.

There are three levels of visa requirements:

  1. Nationalities that can get a visa on arrival (ie you don’t need to arrange one before you travel)
  2. Nationalities that don’t need a visa at all (ie you can enter Zambia as long as your have return ticket and sufficient funds)
  3. Nationalities that need to arrange a visa before travel (ie you need to apply for one in advance)

Nationalities that Require a Visa on Arrival to Enter Zambia

The following nationals can acquire a VOA (visa on arrival) at any port of entry. Visas can also be obtained from some Zambian Missions Abroad or online at the e-services portal.

A – E F – M N – V W
Aaland Islands Faroe Islands Netherlands Wallis and Futuna Islands
Albania Finland Netherlands Antilles Western Sahara
American Samoa France New Caledonia
Andorra French Guiana New Zealand
Argentina French Polynesia Nicaragua
Aruba French Southern Territories Northern Mariana Islands
Australia Georgia Norway
Austria Germany Palau
Belarus Ghana Panama
Belgium Greece Paraguay
Bhutan Greenland Peru
Bolivia Guadeloupe Poland
Bosnia and Herzegovina Guam Portugal
Bouvet Island Guatemala Puerto Rico
Brazil Guyana Russia
Brunei Darussalam Haiti Rwanda
Bulgaria Heard And Mc Donald Islands Saint Pierre And Miquelon
Burundi Honduras Sandwich Islands
Cambodia Hungary San Marino
Canada Iceland Sao Tome and Principe
Cape Verde Israel Slovakia
Chile Italy Slovenia
Christmas Island Japan South Georgia And The South
Cocos (Keeling) Islands Kazakhstan Spain
Colombia Korea, Republic of (South Korea) Suriname
Comoros Lao People’s Democratic Republic Svalbard and Jan Mayen Islands
Congo, Democratic Republic of Latvia Sweden
Congo, Republic of (Brazzaville) Liechtenstein Switzerland
Cook Islands Lithuania Thailand
Costa Rica Luxembourg Turkey
Croatia Macedonia Ukraine
Cuba Madagascar United Arab Emirates
Czech Republic Martinique United Kingdom (UK)
Denmark Mayotte United States Minor Outlying
Djibouti Mexico United States of America
Dominican Republic Micronesia, Federated States Of Uruguay Islands
Ecuador Moldova, Republic of Vatican City State
El Salvador Monaco Venezuela
Eritrea Mongolia Vietnam
Estonia Myanmar(Burma) Virgin Islands

Zambian Missions Abroad are located in the following countries:

Please bear in mind that not all can issue visas

A – G I – R S – Z
Angola Italy South Africa
Belgium India Sweden
Botswana Japan Switzerland
Canada Kenya Tanzania
China Libya United States of America
Democratic Republic of Congo Malawi Zimbabwe
Egypt Mozambique
Ethiopia Namibia
France Nigeria
Germany Russia

Nationalities that Require a Visa on Arrival to Enter Zambia

The following nationals can acquire a VOA (visa on arrival) at any port of entry. Visas can also be obtained from some Zambian Missions Abroad or online at the e-services portal.

A – F G – M N – S T – Z
Angola Gibraltar Namibia Tanzania
Anguilla Grenada Nauru Tokelau
Antigua and Barbuda Ireland Niue Bermuda Tonga
Australian Antarctic Territory Isle of Man Norfolk Island Trinidad and Tobago
Bahamas Jamaica Pitcairn Islands Turks and Caicos Island
Barbados Kenya Romania Tuvalu
Belize Kiribati Ross Dependency Uganda
Botswana Lesotho Samoa Vanuatu
British Antarctic Territory Malawi Serbia Western Samoa
British Indian Ocean Territory Malaysia Seychelles Zimbabwe
British Virgin Islands Maldives Singapore
Cayman Islands Malta Solomon Islands
Channel Islands Marshall Islands South Africa
Cyprus Mauritius St Helena
Dominica Montenegro St Kitts and Nevis
Falkland Islands Montserrat St Lucia
Falkland Islands Dependencies Mozambique St Vincent and Grenadines
Fiji Islands Swaziland

Nationalities that must Apply for a Visa Prior to Travel

If you are a citizen of any of the following countries, you must apply for a visa before you depart for Zambia as you will not be granted a visa on arrival. Applications must be made online at the Zambia Department of Immigration e-services portal.

This list may change without notice so please check updates here

A – E G – L M – Q S – U
Afghanistan Gabon Macau Saudi Arabia
Algeria Gambia Mali Senegal
Armenia Guinea Bissau Mauritania Sierra Leone
Azerbaijan Guinea Conakry Morocco Somalia
Bahrain India Nepal South Sudan
Bangladesh Indonesia Niger Sri-Lanka
Benin Iran Nigeria Sudan
Burkina Faso Iraq North Korea Syria
Cameroon Ivory Coast Oman Tajikistan
Central Africa Republic Jordan Pakistan Timor-Leste (East Timor)
Chad Kuwait Palestine Togo
China Kyrgyzstan Papua New Guinea Tunisia
Egypt Lebanon Philippines Turkmenistan
Equatorial Guinea Liberia Qatar Uzbekistan
Ethiopia Libya

KAZA Univisa

The KAZA Univisa is valid for 30 days and allows travellers multiple entries between Zambia and Zimbabwe (this is useful if you want to visit both sides of Victoria Falls or are doing a multi-destination trip in both countries). It also grants you a one-day pass to Botswana via the Kazungula border post (useful if you want to take a day trip to Kasane or Chobe National Park). For more information, please click here.

KAZA Univisas are charged in US dollars and are available at the following ports of entry in Zambia:

  • Kenneth Kaunda International Airport – Lusaka
  • Harry Mwanga Nkumbula International Airport – Livingstone
  • Victoria Falls border post
  • Kazungula border post

The following nationalities are currently eligible for KAZA Univisas:

A – C D – K L – R S – U
Andorra Denmark Latvia Samoa
Argentina Estonia Liechtenstein Sao Tome
Australia Finland Lithuania Serbia
Austria France Luxembourg Slovakia
Belarus French Polynesia Marshall Islands Slovenia
Belgium French West Indies Moldova South Korea
Bosnia-Herzegovina Georgia Monaco Spain
Brazil Germany Netherlands Sweden
Britain (United Kingdom) Gibraltar New Caledonia Switzerland
Brunei Greece New Zealand Turkey
Burundi Haiti Norway Ukraine
Canada Hungary Poland United Arab Emirates
Cape Verde Iceland Portugal United States of America
Comoros Islands Israel Puerto Rico Uruguay
Cook Islands Japan Russia
Croatia Kazakhstan Rwanda
Czech Republic

How to Apply for a Visa

You can apply here for the following services:

  • Single entry visa
  • Double entry visa
  • Multiple entry visa
  • Day tripper visa
  • Transit entry visa
  • KAZA Univisa
  • Border pass
  • Cross border permit
  • Transit Permit
  • Temporary permit